Programme 2006


Tuesday, September 26, 2006, Ranchmen’s Club
710 – 13th Avenue S.W. Calgary , Alberta

Moderator   Craig Spurn, Co-Chair, National Energy Practice, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP  
7:30-9:00   Registration and buffet breakfast
9:00-9:15   Welcome  
    Hon. Roy MacLaren, PC, Co-Chair, The Energy Roundtable  
9:15-9:45   Morning keynote address I:
    Hon. Richard Neufeld , Minister of Energy, Mines & Petroleum Resources, Province of British Columbia  
9:45-10:15   Morning keynote address II:  
    Gary Holden , President & CEO, ENMAX Corporation
10:15-10:45   Networking break.  
10:45-12:00   Petroleum Session sponsored by the Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers

The panel will examine exploration and production activities, including the demands on the comprehensive infrastructure that will be required to develop oil sands projects, as well as mid and downstream investment, including delivery and refining capacity. Locating processing activities, technological developments, financing projects and managing risk will also be discussed.

    Dr. William Roach , President & CEO, UTS Energy Corporation

    Ian Anderson , President, Kinder Morgan Canada

    Tom Ebbern , Executive Managing Director, Institutional Research, Tristone Capital

    Session Chair: Ron Deyholos , Partner, National Energy Practice, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP

12:00-14:00   Lunch sponsored by ENMAX Corporation with keynote address by:
    Hon. Greg Melchin , Minister of Energy, Province of Alberta  
14:00-15:15   Natural Gas Session sponsored by Direct Energy

Discussions will include exploration, major projects, including the MacKenzie Valley pipeline, retail developments in what is already a highly integrated continental market and managing risks and stakeholder interests on large infrastructure projects.

    Robert Reid , President, Aboriginal Pipeline Group

    Dale Kern , Director, Deloitte Financial Advisory Services ( Chicago )

    Peter Krenkel , President, Natural Gas Exchange (TSX Group)

    Deryk King , President & CEO, Direct Energy (Centrica North America )

    Session Chair: Robert Power , Co-Chair, National Energy Practice, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP

15:15-15:45   Networking break
15:45-17:00   Power Session sponsored by Alberta Electric System Operator
Discussions will include investment in new power generation, including capacity for oil sands activities, other conventional and renewable developments, distributed power, new technologies and trends in transmission networks, both East-West and cross border.

    Doug Little , Vice President, Customer & Strategy Development , BC Transmission Corporation

    Dale McMaster , Chief Executive Officer , Alberta Electric System Operator

    Wayne Henuset , Director, Energy Alberta Corporation

    Armand Laferrere , President , AREVA Canada

    Session Chair: Ken Smith , Managing Partner, Secor Consulting

17:00   Conference close
19:00   Gala dinner at the Petroleum Club (319-5th Avenue S.W.)
sponsored by Deloitte. Keynote address by:
    Hon. Ty Lund , Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure , Province of Alberta