Print Conference Programme

2016 Conference Programme

Chair Caroline Saunders, British Consul General, Calgary
9:00 am H.E. Janice Charette, Canadian High Commissioner, London
9:15 am Session 1: The energy landscape in Canada, UK and the EU

Dramatic changes are underway in global energy markets and the implications are profound. Persistent low prices have made only the most efficient oil and gas projects economic, yet some producers continue to add supply and seek new markets given the huge capital commitments required for their projects. Impending climate change regulations will further impact the energy sector, leaving producers, power generators, distributors and end users with questions around the implications of the global trend towards decarbonisation. Add in a dose of political uncertainty around Brexit and the panel will examine how to navigate the energy landscape in Canada, the UK and the EU.


Session Chair: Carl Mortishead, Journalist and Columnist, Globe & Mail

10:05 am Hon. Brian Gallant, Premier of New Brunswick
10:30 am Networking break
11:00 am Session II: Future transatlantic collaboration

Panelists will examine areas of growth in Canadian and European energy markets. Where can firms on both sides of the Atlantic collaborate on energy technology, production and advanced infrastructure? What are the most promising industrial and engineering applications in both clean tech and for fossil energy usage?  In meeting the need for growth whilst addressing climate change, what path will Canada, as a net energy exporter, and Europe, as a net energy importer, follow? Panelists will further examine the public policy decisions that are being made to diversify Canada’s energy exports and offer insights on how to ensure security of supply and a diverse energy mix in the UK and continental Europe.

  • Andrew Noseworthy, Senior Advisor, Energy, Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
  • Dame Fiona Woolf, former Lord Mayor of London; Partner, CMC Cameron McKenna
  • Gordon Murray, Executive Director, Wood Pellet Association of Canada
  • Jeff Swartz, Director, International Policy, International Emissions Trading Association

Session Chair: Dr. Niall Mac Dowell, Energy and Environmental Technology and Policy, Imperial College London


12:00 pm

12:20 pm

Preston Swafford, Chief Nuclear Officer and Executive Vice-President, Nuclear, SNC Lavalin

Luncheon with address by the Baroness Neville Rolfe, Minister of State for Energy and Intellectual Property

1:45 pm Close by Jason Langrish, President, The Energy Roundtable
 * Not yet confirmed