Print programme

2019 Programme

     MC Caroline Saunders, British Consul General, Calgary
     9:00 am Opening remarks by H.E. Janice Charette, High Commissioner for Canada in the United Kingdom
     9:10 am Decarbonisation in the oil and gas sector. New technologies and sources of data are allowing companies to better understand, detect, reduce and mitigate their environmental impact. This is driving investments in solutions to reduce carbon emissions and increase efficiency while meeting the challenges of climate change. This panel will explore different approaches within the oil and gas industry.

  • Joy Romero, Vice President, Technology & Innovation, Canadian Natural Resources Ltd and Chair, Clean Resource Innovation Network
  • Susannah Pierce, Director, Corporate Affairs, LNG Canada
  • Hege Rognø, Head of Low Carbon Technologies, Equinor
  • Grant Sprague, Deputy Minister, Alberta Energy

Session chair: Andrew Noseworthy, Assistant Deputy Minister Clean Technologies, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada; Senior Advisor to the President (Energy) Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency

     9:55 am Electrification of energy systems. The transition to a low carbon economy is creating new demands on the electricity system for which new strategies and technologies are required. Panelists will discuss the evolution of power generation, grid requirements, as well as the opportunities and challenges associated with these changes.

  • Jay Zoellner, CEO, KiWi Power
  • Trevor Wills, Partner, Boost Energy ventures
  • Kiel Dolence, Head of Growth, Moixa

Session chair: Caroline Saunders, British Consul General, Calgary

   10:35 am Networking break
   10:55 am Address by Shawn Tupper, Associate Deputy Minister, Natural Resources Canada  
   11:15 pm The role of nuclear power generation. As energy systems become more ‘electrified’ there is increasing demand for low-carbon power generation. This panel will discuss nuclear energy’s potential within this increasingly decentralized and disaggregated energy system landscape.

  • Mark Lesinski, President & CEO, Canadian Nuclear Laboratories
  • Julia Pyke, Nuclear Development Director, Sizewell C, EDF Nuclear Generation Ltd.
  • Steve Threlfall, General Manager, U-Battery, Urenco Limited
  • Klaas de Boer, Director, General Fusion

Session chair: Richard Sexton, President & CEO, AECL

   12:00 pm Address by Malread Lavery, President & CEO, Export Development Canada  
   12:25 pm

     1:30 pm

Networking luncheon

Close by Jason Langrish, The Energy Roundtable